Wallace Wilson Leadership Award

The annual Wallace Wilson Leadership Award is presented to a graduate who has demonstrated high ethical standards and outstanding leadership to the profession.

Congratulations to our 2019 Wallace Wilson Leadership Award Recipients:


Dr. Michael Nimmo (MD’95)


Dr. Ron Walls (BSc’75, MD’79)

To learn more Dr. Nimmo and Dr. Walls and their career, please click on their photo above!


This award is presented at the Medical Alumni Association’s AGM.

Eligibility & Criteria:

  • Current members of the Board of Directors of the MAA are not eligible
  • Nominator must be an MD alumnus of the UBC medical program
  • Letters of support may be from anyone
  • Award(s) may not be nominated posthumously

Nominating is easy:

Step 1: Complete a nomination application form – fill in and save a copy

Step 2: Collect a summarized curriculum vitae/online biography (maximum 5 pages, please do not include the full list of publications)*

Optional Step: Write and/or collect a letter of support – optional, but encouraged, max 2 letters

Step 3: E-mail all documents to med.alumni@ubc.ca or mail to 2750 Heather Street, Vancouver BC, V5Z 4M2

*Where a CV is not easily available to you, the Alumni Engagement Office is happy to assist.

The deadline for 2019 nominations has passed. Nominations for the 2020 awards will open in Fall 2019.

For questions, please contact Eric Chow at 604-875-4111 ext. 62032 or med.alumni@ubc.ca.