Class Notes

Share your news with classmates and other Faculty of Medicine Alumni!  Let us know about recent awards you’ve received, achievements in your career or personal life and activates that you’ve been up to.


Submit Your Class Note Button

Isabelle Chen MD MPH’15
Dr. Isabelle Chen was selected out of 3500 eligible family medicine residents for the 2017 American Academy of Family Physicians Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education “for leadership, civic involvement, exemplary patient care since 1952.” Read More >

Kiran Dhillon MD’16
Dr. Kiran Dhillon was recently awarded with both the Westview Physician Collaborative Resident Leadership Award and the Patricia Ann Peat Family Medicine Enhancement Fund award. Read More >

Carol Herbert MD’69
Carol is President of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences 2015-17. Note that prior President was John Cairns (Class of 1968) and President-elect is Linda Rabeneck, also UBC alumna. Read More >

Roxanne Mitchell MD’16
Dr. Roxanne Mitchell, an IMP graduate from the Class of 2016, has been awarded the “Kristin Sivertz Memorial Prize in Medicine in Psychiatry.” Read More >

Steven Narod MD’79
Dr. Steven Narod, Women's College Hospital senior scientist, receives the 2016 Killam Prize in Health Sciences from the Governor General David Johnston during a ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Tuesday, May 3, 2016. Read More >

Leslie Anderson MD’13
Leslie Anderson, MD'13 invited Rick Mercer to film a segment of his show with resident doctors for Resident Awareness Week. Read More >

Ján Tkáč MSc’09
Published an exciting new article in the field of DNA damage repair: Tkáč J et al. (2016). HELB Is a Feedback Inhibitor of DNA End Resection. Molecular Cell 61, 405–418. Read More >

Deborah Money, MD’85
 Deborah Money, MD’85 has been appointed Executive Vice Dean effective April 1, 2016.   Read More >

Harvey Lui, MD’86
Harvey Lui, MD’86 is the current President of the International League of Dermatological Societies. Read More >

Vancouver Medical Association’s Annual Osler Dinner, Nov 2015
Caroline Wang, MD’84 and Steven Mathias, MD’01, were the Primus Inter Pares recipients at the Vancouver Medical Association’s Annual Osler Dinner on Nov 26, 2015.   Read More >